3

A high-rep user recently closed his account, with no effect on my rep. (I am sorry to see him go.) I know that he gave me at least several upvotes and at least one acceptance. When low-rep users close their accounts, the upvotes they awarded are negated. I've seen a few small drops in my rep because of this.

What is the dividing line between a low-rep user and a high-rep user in negating/not negating upvotes when his account is closed?

3
  • 6
    As far as I can tell, Stack Exchange employees have deliberately avoided specifying the exact numbers, I guess to avoid encouraging voting-fraudsters to try to hit them or maybe just to give SE more freedom to adjust them as necessary without people getting confused: Don't throw away all votes when a user is deleted
    – herisson
    Feb 2, 2017 at 23:56
  • 2
    @sumelic that's a good answer. My thoughts exactly.
    – NVZ Mod
    Feb 3, 2017 at 7:05
  • 4
    Don't throw away all votes when a user is deleted is exactly the answer. Unfortunately we can't mark cross-site duplicates.
    – Andrew Leach Mod
    Feb 3, 2017 at 10:47

0

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .