8

I did search but couldn't find an answer... so hope this isn't an exact duplicate... as that would be rather embarrassing.

I saw a question closed today by two users, and Community.

At what point does the Community user decide to get in on the act?

Is it some kind of literal string for string comparison?

  • 3
    It means the OP agreed that it is a duplicate. It's a confusing convention that I wish they would change. – sumelic Apr 11 '17 at 19:14
  • @sumelic Aha thanks, now I understand. – Gary Apr 11 '17 at 19:15
  • @sumelic it was actually introduced not far ago, and you can find out the reason by hovering over the link. (It's in the tooltip) – M.A.R. ಠ_ಠ Apr 11 '17 at 19:59
  • 2
    Community is kind of a control freak. – Mitch Apr 11 '17 at 20:35
9

This is all explained on Meta.SE: New UI encourages askers to confirm or dispute duplicate votes. Here's a summary:

When there is at least one duplicate close vote on their question, the author sees a banner:

This question may already have an answer here: dupe link

Clicking on that button (and confirming) closes the question as a duplicate.


Why Community?

Shog9 explains in a comment:

Although the effect is the same in this (one, narrowly-defined) scenario, question owners do not have binding close votes on their own post - I believe such a feature would likely introduce a great deal of confusion unless also coupled with binding reopen votes, which would of course introduce either an opportunity for abuse or a ton of extra rules for voting. The system is closing the question, not the user who confirmed the duplicate.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .