I was under the impression that drafts of edits were saved. Is that not the case?
Now I lost one of my better answers in its inception because being on mobile and a bit clumsy I sometimes accidently hit the submit button and occasionally continue by editing, and then have to go back in the browser to e.g. to read the question body again. What drafts are and are not saved is not well documented anyhow, and might be subject to change. I'm just curious if I misremembered because the browser will have the text cached if going back and forth, but reloading by clicking the edit link will apparently refresh.
I'm tagging this feature-request, too, just to nag.