6

Today, I noticed a -840 reputation in my reputation list. It lists the reputation change as below:

-75 04:25 removed User was removed

-77 04:25 removed User was removed

-228 04:24 removed User was removed

-460 04:24 removed User was removed

How can one remove his account from the SE? Does it cause my reputation to be removed?

  • 1
    As Ben notes, this will happen when a user account is deleted, either by request or due to a Terms of Service violation. – Shog9 Aug 28 '12 at 14:32
  • 2
    Wow! You must have been a real hit with those users, if they accounted for a fifth of your total reputation! – FumbleFingers Aug 28 '12 at 14:41
  • Wow that's some bad luck... – Alenanno Aug 28 '12 at 18:31
  • related: erm… I lost 2,134 in reputation – Mari-Lou A Oct 29 '17 at 12:11
8

Users can be deleted either because they're spammers (who usually don't vote), major abuse like sockpuppet voting (sockpuppets can be deleted) or at request. When a user is deleted, regardless of the reason, all of their votes are removed as well.

There's no indication of who was removed or why. But since there's 4 lines in the rep history it probably means 4 different users were removed. All their undone votes are rolled up into one item.

  • 4
    Maybe they were cleaning out their sock drawer that day. :) – tchrist Aug 28 '12 at 20:03

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .