Occasionally, I start writing an answer to a question, get distracted, come back later to a "there are new answers" message, load the other answers, decide they're the same as (or better than) what I was going to write, and I decide to abandon my answer. The problem is, just deleting the text from the answer pane isn't enough - the system saves a draft, which keeps coming back every time I visit that question. Is there a way to delete such a draft?
I'm not sure when this feature was implemented, but there is a discard option that appears next to the Post Your Answer button after 45 seconds.
Only one draft per user is ever saved -- so this draft will be replaced the next time you answer a question, as the draft for that question will overwrite this one.