7

This question is protected: "To answer it, you must have earned at least 10 reputation on this site." I have 101 reputation, so why can I not post an answer?

  • 1
    How apposite! Given that question asks for "non-offensive expressions of exasperation", I bet a few more occurred to you when you discovered you weren't even able to post whatever you originally had in mind! – FumbleFingers Mar 10 '14 at 18:45
  • 1
    Yes, I believe I actually said "fiddlesticks!" out loud. – Bennett McElwee Mar 10 '14 at 20:33
13

Because you haven't earned over 10 rep on this site. You have been given the site association bonus, but that is not counted.

  • 2
    Aha, thanks. Having rep ain't enough -- ya gots to earn it! :) – Bennett McElwee Mar 6 '14 at 22:25
  • 3
    That's confusing. So rep is stratified on a site between what you've earned there vs what got you your first hundred points? That seems like a difficult thing to compute. – Mitch Mar 7 '14 at 3:18
  • @Mitch it's actually very simple: if you got the association bonus, your first 100 reps are ignored for this calculation. – Matt E. Эллен Mar 7 '14 at 10:08
  • @Matt So many hidden business rules! – Mitch Mar 7 '14 at 12:56
  • Yes, it does seem a bit arbitrary. I wonder if this distinction is made in other parts of the site? I'm not sure that the same rules applies to other SE sites. – Bennett McElwee Mar 10 '14 at 20:34
  • @BennettMcElwee It does. It's the same rule everywhere. – Matt E. Эллен Mar 10 '14 at 21:02
  • For example Arqade, programmers and RPGs. – Matt E. Эллен Mar 10 '14 at 21:03
  • The wording describing the question protection is misleading and/or incorrect. It says "posting an answer requires 10 reputation on this site." Two issues: 1) it doesn't mention that unearned rep (e.g., association bonus) is not counted and 2) it says "on this site," it should say "on this question." Right? Is there a way to file a bug report about this? – Josh Aug 21 '14 at 17:55
  • 1
    Site is correct. If you have earned at least an up vote on an answer to a different question, or at least two up votes on one or more other questions, then you can answer protected questions. It is just the association bonus that does not count in this calculation. – Matt E. Эллен Aug 21 '14 at 21:38

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .