Just curious but what happens if you accept an answer after you've already accepted one?

Does the original answerer lose the points and the new one gain them? Is it even possible to change your accepted answer (it appears as though it's possible since the button isn't disabled)

  • (I checked meta.english, meta.stackoverflow, and the FAQ, and I couldn't find an answer at any of them)
    – Adam
    Mar 27, 2011 at 3:53

1 Answer 1


Yes, you can change your accepted answer indefinitely, forever.

However, you can only do it once every 24 hours as I recall, to prevent weird rapid accept change gaming issues.

  • So the points actually transfer from the original accepted answerer to the newly accepted answerer?
    – Adam
    Mar 27, 2011 at 4:21
  • 1
    @adv yes, subtract from old and add to new Mar 27, 2011 at 4:21

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .