Yes, I know. When a user is removed, or they delete their accounts their upvotes and downvotes are removed. But tonight I lost 2,134 rep. That's a lot. Seriously. This is no laughing matter. I just wish I could lose weight this easily...
And, apart from anything else, I thought the down and upvotes from high rep users were kept.
The following answer is written by Shog9♦
But we have a system in place to prevent the most disruptive forms of vote deletion, and we've been using it for a while now without major issues. For the foreseeable future, this is as completed as it is gonna get.
Here's how it works:
- There are two thresholds:
- Number of votes cast by the user being deleted
- Number of people affected significantly by those votes
The exact values of those thresholds don't particularly matter; they're pretty low, but not so low that you could hit them easily while still hiding fraudulent activity. - If either threshold is exceeded, deletion is held up until someone reviews it. Otherwise, deletion proceeds and any votes are discarded. - If, during review, it becomes apparent that the user is or ever was involved in voting fraud, [emphasis mine] the votes are discarded as they would normally be. - Otherwise, the votes are preserved.
The end result of this is that most users will still see votes being removed along with user deletions from time to time... But rarely if ever will these votes cause a non-trivial drop in reputation or a sudden, wide-spread skew in post scores, which were the primary complaints in the past.
- answered Oct 29 '15 at 1:29
So... is that it? The user who deleted their accounts was involved in some voting fraud? It seems evident that the user had two accounts, so did the user upvote their own questions and answers? For hypothesis' sake, let's say they did, my next question is.
- Why should any innocent user be penalized?
No user should be penalized when the account of a very high-reputation user has been self-deleted. The votes were cast when the account was valid, and any voting fraud behavior the user may have indulged in subsequently should not affect the rep of ELUers. The only scenario that may justify the annihilation of thousands of votes –because it's thousands– were if the number of votes was cast by the same voter using multiple accounts. If that were the case (but I seriously doubt this happened) TPTB should discard the votes from the multiple accounts, and restore the votes from the principal account.
P.S I am perfectly aware who the user is, a user who made a massive, massive contribution to EL&U, and whose main desire was to help newcomers, and deepen his knowledge of the English language. I won't engage in squabbles, the user still has my respect, this question is focused on the significant drop in reputation.